Toxic Charity by Robert D. Lupton

Toxic Charity

By Robert D. Lupton

  • Release Date: 2011-10-11
  • Genre: Social Science
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 54 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

Reviews

  • Non-Profit Practitioner gets a revelation

    5
    By Deliber8ly_Gr8
    This book has opened my eyes to faults that has plagued our approaches to alleviating poverty and helping the materially poor.
  • Can relate to all aspects of ministry

    5
    By brightshine123
    This book is an eye opener. I believe the strategies in this book can be applied to other parts of ministry. Like how pastors may end up with dependent parishioners who are unable to foster their own spiritual growth. Instead, they become so dependent on the church that a whole week would go by before they finally pick up their Bibles or a whole week would go by before their children will start hearing about God. They expect the church to teach everything to them and their children that even after years of coming, for some reason...they are still "poor" in spirit and "far" from God. Hm...I wonder if there is a book about this out there somewhere?
  • Still a bit toxic

    4
    By MarmotRidge
    Lupton shows a better way to help the poor without hurting them. No questions about that. Nevertheless, he goes light on the need for internal motivation required inside the poor, else all this work is for naught. Possibly, he would set expectations if he said this works for the "leaders" and those highly motivated. Not everyone is going to win just because we follow the FCS oath. But that is ok. If I run a certain type of store I must realize not everyone is a candidate to be my customer. I just need to know my true customer well, and not expect too much from the rest. Finally, I think he underestimates the Gospel in turning more of the folks into highly motivated folks from across the tracks. Or at least he does not share what the role of the Gospel is in the community development concept.
  • Could'nt stop reading

    5
    By Mark Roye
    For the first time I could not stop reading this book. I finished it in one night. As one who has worked in the inner city for 14 years, I have been challenged to think in a different way. The writer answered questions that I have had for a long time. If you are church leader or one who cares for the poor in the world, you must read this book. Mark Roye

keyboard_arrow_up